
 

 

Auction Firm License Application Instructions 
 

Below is a listing of the required forms to be completed for an auction firm license.   
1. Auction Firm Application form. 
2. Bond form.  Must be bonded in the favor of the State of Ohio  
3. Police Waiver form. 

 
You must have the following on file prior to being scheduled for examination. 

1. Properly completed application, printed or typed. 
2. For all applicants, a surety bond is required as a part of licensure.  The bond must 

be written in the exact name that is stated on line numbers 1 and 2 of AUCTION 
FIRM APPLICATION.  BONDS MUST HAVE A BOND NUMBER AND BE SIGNED.  
Bond amount must be in the amount of $50,000.00. 

3. A check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Ohio, in the amount of 
$115.00 ($100.00 licensing fee and $15.00 for the examination fee).  If your firm 
manager is a licensed auctioneer, enclose only $100.00. 

 
After all forms and proofs have been filed and if you meet the requirements, you will be 
notified, by mail, of the date, time and place of examination, if applicable.  The 
examination is given monthly.  All forms must be on file no later than 14 days prior to 
the exam in order to be seated.  Your license will be issued if you meet all the 
requirements and the firm manager passes the examination. 
 
Book of Auctioneer Laws and Rules is available at www.agri.ohio.gov.   Hard Copies are 
not available at this time. 
 
Please make check or money order out to the Treasurer, State of Ohio.  
 

Specific Instructions for Completing the Auction Firm Application Form 
 

1. Name of applicant: individual, corporation, association or all partners’ names. 
2. Intended auctioneer/business/trade name.  The use of more than three business 

names will cost an additional $10.00 fee which must accompany the license fee 
and application.   Any business other than your individual name or the 
corporation name must be registered with the Ohio Secretary of State at (614) 
466-3910. Submit copy of certificate of trade name registration. 

3. Business address of applicant: This must be an actual physical address, box 
number, or rural route number, not a post office box number. 

 
Bank accounts: You are REQUIRED, under licensing laws to maintain a bank account into 
which all sales proceeds should be deposited unless  you are settling with  your 

http://www.agri.ohio.gov/


Form 1 

consignors the day of the sale.  The bank account should be used only for depositing 
sale proceeds into and paying cosigner/owners, your commission and other expenses 
directly related to sale and specified in the contract not for your personal or other 
business. 
 
Please Note: 
 
For all applicants, a surety bond is required as a part of licensure.  The bond must be 
written in the exact name that is stated on line numbers 1 and 2 of AUCTION FIRM 
APPLICATION.  BONDS MUST HAVE A BOND NUMBER AND BE SIGNED.  Bond amount 
must be in the amount of $50,000.00.   
 
Documentation of legal existence must accompany applications.  (Partnerships and 
associations must be filed with the County Recorder). 
 
Out of State Corporations must apply with the Ohio Secretary of State as a foreign 
corporation.  Documentation of authorization required. 
 
Police Record Check on officers, partners, members of the company: No police record 
check is required if the record check on file is less than six months. 
 
CHECKS PAYABLE:  Treasurer State of Ohio.  For applicants requiring examination, the 
application must be on file with the department 14 days in advance of the exam.  You 
will be notified by mail on the date, time and place to appear. 
 

ALL INCOMPLETE/INCORRECT APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED, UNPROCESSED. 
NO AUCTION ACTIVITIES ARE PERMITTED UNTIL A LICENSE IS IN HAND. 

 


