Ohio Department of Agriculture
Division of Animal Health

8995 E. Main St.

Reynoldsburg, OH 43068

614-728-6220
animal@agri.ohio.gov

www.agri.ohio.gov
John R. Kasich , Governor

Mary Taylor, Lt. Governor
James Zehringer, Director

Department of
Agriculture

Qhio

Enforcement

Ohio Livestock Care Standards

Ohios livestock care standards will be enforced by the Ohio Department of
Agriculture’s (ODA) Divisions of Animal Health and Enforcement. ODA
staff will investigate credible complaints to determine if a violation has
occurred. If a violation is found, the person who owns or has immediate
custody of the animal(s) will be informed in person, or by telephone, fax, or
email.

If the violation can be corrected, ODA staff will include the corrective mea-
sures which must be taken to achieve compliance with the rules,

including the amount of time allowed to take any necessary corrective
measures, in the written notice. If the responsible party fails to remedy the
violation within the time specified in the written notice, they may be assessed
a subsequent violation for each day the violation remains uncured.

Minor Violations

Minor violations of Ohio’s livestock care standards are generally due to
neglect or unintentional acts of substandard practices. Minor violations
are finable up to $500 for the first minor offense and up to $1,000 for each
subsequent minor offense that is committed within 60 months of the
previous minor violation.

Major Violations
Major violations of Ohio’s livestock care standards are reckless or inten-
tional acts which result in the unjustified infliction of pain. Major
violations can be any action which:

« places an animals life in imminent peril

« causes protracted disfigurement

« causes protracted impairment of health

« causes protracted loss or impairment of the function of a limb or

bodily organ

Major violations of Ohio’s livestock care standards are finable offenses with
penalties ranging between $1,000 and $5,000 for the first major violation
and $5,000 to $10,000 for each subsequent major violation that is committed
within 60 months of the previous major violation.

Anyone who has been issued a fine for violation of these rules will have 30
days to request a hearing to appeal the Department’s decision.

To download a more comprehensive overview of Ohios livestock care standards,
please visit www.ohiolivestockcarestandards.gov



